Lord of the rings online.

Discuss the world of amBX-enabled gaming with other gamers.

Re: Lord of the rings online.

Postby firestorm84 » Tue Apr 21, 2009 3:16 am

Any update on this PawPaw? If needed, I can help test/debug anything. Cheers!
Core 2 - 6600 (2.4Ghz), 3 GB RAM, 7 Ultimate 64 bit, GeForce 8800GT x 2 (SLI), 1TB WD Caviar Black, Logitech MX Revolution Mouse, Logitech THX Z-5300e 5.1, amBX Starter Pack :)
firestorm84
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 2:42 am
Location: US, North Carolina

Re: Lord of the rings online.

Postby PawPaw » Tue Apr 21, 2009 5:25 pm

firestorm84 wrote:Any update on this PawPaw? If needed, I can help test/debug anything. Cheers!


sent you a pm :D
Win7Pro 64, I5.760@ 4ghz, P55-e pro,DDR3 4 gig, 2xGTX460sli, X-Fi Fatality Pro, 2xV/raptor 300gig Raid 0, WD 750 & 500 gig,Tagan 900W, MX Performance Mouse, 24" TFT , Antec 1200 Case, Eclipse III KB,Megaworks THX 5.1, LG Blu-Ray , 3 amBX kits
User avatar
PawPaw
Moderator
 
Posts: 1012
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2009 11:38 am
Location: UK

Re: Lord of the rings online.

Postby Nuker » Fri Apr 24, 2009 4:53 am

Hey all.. i am new to ambx as i just picked up a premium kit and just started to use it. First off let me say I LOVE IT.. it's friggin awesome.

I'm playing LOTRO myself and am running 64bit vista... for those of you having the same problem i had the easiest fix would be to find the file:

lotroclient.exe

in your install directory of LOTRO and right click properties. Set compatibility mode to xp sp2 and then ambx should work like a charm in game.

I'm not sure why the moderators here are PMing everyone but if i wasn't allowed to post that fix then please delete this post and i will stop posting fixes for other games!
Vista 64,E6750 @3.6,EVGA 680i-LT,Hyper-x 4 gig,2xEVGA GTX 260 (1 core 216 superclock) in SLI,X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion,2xraptor 74gb Raid 0,Coolermaster 750w, Copperhead, Westinghouse 42" 1080p,CM690 Case,Z-680 5.1 1000wat,amBX kit
Nuker
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 4:48 am
Location: Connecticut

Re: Lord of the rings online.

Postby firestorm84 » Fri Apr 24, 2009 2:26 pm

Thanks for the update - that is an ingenious idea. I will give that a whirl tonight and post my results. I think the PMs were sent since the solutions recommended were untested. Cheers!
Core 2 - 6600 (2.4Ghz), 3 GB RAM, 7 Ultimate 64 bit, GeForce 8800GT x 2 (SLI), 1TB WD Caviar Black, Logitech MX Revolution Mouse, Logitech THX Z-5300e 5.1, amBX Starter Pack :)
firestorm84
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 2:42 am
Location: US, North Carolina

Re: Lord of the rings online.

Postby PawPaw » Fri Apr 24, 2009 4:05 pm

Nuker, thats a very interesting idea and one i'll be checking out on another Title with a similar problem. Your ideas and fixes are always very welcome. The pm's i have sent have been in reply to questions not always related to the actual post. Look forward to hear if this fix helps you out firestorm84 :D
Win7Pro 64, I5.760@ 4ghz, P55-e pro,DDR3 4 gig, 2xGTX460sli, X-Fi Fatality Pro, 2xV/raptor 300gig Raid 0, WD 750 & 500 gig,Tagan 900W, MX Performance Mouse, 24" TFT , Antec 1200 Case, Eclipse III KB,Megaworks THX 5.1, LG Blu-Ray , 3 amBX kits
User avatar
PawPaw
Moderator
 
Posts: 1012
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2009 11:38 am
Location: UK

Re: Lord of the rings online.

Postby firestorm84 » Sat Apr 25, 2009 12:11 am

Well, this absolutely works. Also, this mode works better than most games I have seen where ambx is native. Tested this with Vista 32-bit. HOWEVER - this disables all of the Dx10 Eye Candy since it thinks it is WinXp and not Vista. Also, I am noticing a performance hit (as expected) of about 25% in FPS. I will see if I can hack the registry of the game to over-ride the DX10 limit to turn the graphics settings back on. I will post once I try the registry. Cheers!
Core 2 - 6600 (2.4Ghz), 3 GB RAM, 7 Ultimate 64 bit, GeForce 8800GT x 2 (SLI), 1TB WD Caviar Black, Logitech MX Revolution Mouse, Logitech THX Z-5300e 5.1, amBX Starter Pack :)
firestorm84
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 2:42 am
Location: US, North Carolina

Re: Lord of the rings online.

Postby firestorm84 » Sat Apr 25, 2009 7:50 am

So I tested this further tonight. It looks like the reason it was not working was just the DX10.

Testing Steps:
1. Ensure running in normal Vista mode - running with DX9 codecs: ambx lights work perfectly
2. Change to Dx10 and restart game: ambx lights stop working all together

Did a little google crawling I think that DX10 is not yet supported except for games with native ambx support. I hope the developers roll out a fix to enable non-native support for DX10 as well as this has some notable improvements over DX 9.

Bottom line:
amBX will work with LOTRO - just uncheck DX10 option or run in XP SP2 compatibility mode.
I hope the developers will support DX10 in the near future :)

Cheers!
Core 2 - 6600 (2.4Ghz), 3 GB RAM, 7 Ultimate 64 bit, GeForce 8800GT x 2 (SLI), 1TB WD Caviar Black, Logitech MX Revolution Mouse, Logitech THX Z-5300e 5.1, amBX Starter Pack :)
firestorm84
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 2:42 am
Location: US, North Carolina

Re: Lord of the rings online.

Postby Nuker » Sat Apr 25, 2009 10:05 am

sweet good job man... i figured it might have been dx10 or just something with vista. right now i don't know whats better.. the pretty lights... or the pretty lights if you know what i mean
Vista 64,E6750 @3.6,EVGA 680i-LT,Hyper-x 4 gig,2xEVGA GTX 260 (1 core 216 superclock) in SLI,X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion,2xraptor 74gb Raid 0,Coolermaster 750w, Copperhead, Westinghouse 42" 1080p,CM690 Case,Z-680 5.1 1000wat,amBX kit
Nuker
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 4:48 am
Location: Connecticut

Re: Lord of the rings online.

Postby PawPaw » Sat Apr 25, 2009 3:18 pm

Well done you guys.Thanks for replying and offering a solution. :D
Win7Pro 64, I5.760@ 4ghz, P55-e pro,DDR3 4 gig, 2xGTX460sli, X-Fi Fatality Pro, 2xV/raptor 300gig Raid 0, WD 750 & 500 gig,Tagan 900W, MX Performance Mouse, 24" TFT , Antec 1200 Case, Eclipse III KB,Megaworks THX 5.1, LG Blu-Ray , 3 amBX kits
User avatar
PawPaw
Moderator
 
Posts: 1012
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2009 11:38 am
Location: UK

Re: Lord of the rings online.

Postby Tasker » Tue Apr 28, 2009 10:45 am

Hi guys,

great work figuring this one out. We'll look into why DX10 is throwing up these problems. Hopefully we'll have some solution/answers to give you in the not too distant future.

Thanks,

Tasker
Tasker
 
Posts: 862
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 8:41 am

Re: Lord of the rings online.

Postby daeng » Wed Nov 25, 2009 11:46 am

Hi there...

i'd like to ask if anything happened in the meantime?

In My Configuration I'm getting The Lights to work with LOTRO (yes, DX10) if I don't update the driver I downloaded from the ambx homepage a few weeks ago. After any update, the lights stop working with DX10...

btw, i have vista64....

I'll try to post the working driver version, when I'm at home tonight...
daeng
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2009 11:31 am

Re: Lord of the rings online.

Postby Langaleer » Wed Nov 25, 2009 6:46 pm

It shouldnt matter if its DX10 or not with the later updates, what matters now is if its 64-bit client or not.
User avatar
Langaleer
Moderator
 
Posts: 442
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 5:41 pm

Re: Lord of the rings online.

Postby firestorm84 » Thu Nov 26, 2009 2:46 am

So the DX10 is now working for 32 bit installations of LOTRO?! That would be great news! I will have to try it out. Cheers!
Core 2 - 6600 (2.4Ghz), 3 GB RAM, 7 Ultimate 64 bit, GeForce 8800GT x 2 (SLI), 1TB WD Caviar Black, Logitech MX Revolution Mouse, Logitech THX Z-5300e 5.1, amBX Starter Pack :)
firestorm84
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 2:42 am
Location: US, North Carolina

Re: Lord of the rings online.

Postby Lorr » Thu Dec 03, 2009 4:41 am

I am now using Windows 7 64bit. If I play LOTRO without DirectX 10 turned on, the lights work perfectly. If I turn on any of the DirectX 10 options, the lights don't work with the game at all.

I don't think I have any other DirectX 10 games to test if it's related to just LOTRO or DirectX 10 in general.

Any ideas?
Lorr
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2009 2:02 am

Re: Lord of the rings online.

Postby daeng » Sat Jan 09, 2010 5:41 pm

any updates concerning LOTRO? Now using Windows 7 64bit... still waiting for DX10 support by the ambx driver... :evil:
daeng
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2009 11:31 am

PreviousNext

Return to Games